Meredith Davis Volunteer of the Year Award

Every year at the annual Austin SCBWI conference, the leadership team honors one dedicated helper with the Meredith Davis Volunteer of the Year Award.

The award is named after one of the founding members of the Austin SCBWI chapter and the chapter's first Regional Advisor. Meredith Davis has worked tirelessly for children's writers and illustrators in the Austin area, and continues to be very active with the chapter. She's an inspiration to our members.

The Volunteer of the Award is chosen for their dedication to the chapter and their work to go over and above to help the Austin SCBWI leadership team and members.

The recipient receives:

• 1 year's free SCBWI membership

• $25 bookstore gift card

• Austin SCBWI memorabilia, like a mug and notebook.

The first Meredith Davis Volunteer of the Year Award was given to Lyn Seippel in 2008 for her work as Assistant Regional Advisor.

Recent recipients are:

2016 – Critique Coordinator Bradley Wilson

2015 – Enewsletter Coordinator Iris Geisler

2014 – Social Media Coordinator Christopher S. Jennings

2013 – Open Critique Group leader Ladonna Eisenbaum and Monthly Meeting Coordinator Lindsey Lane

Volunteer Benefits

As well as being eligible for the Meredith Davis Volunteer of the Year Award,

• All our year-round volunteers are celebrated at a special Volunteer/Faculty Party the night before our annual conference, along with all the event's faculty. 

• Year-round volunteers get the first choice on free-attendance volunteer spots for the annual conference and other Austin SCBWI events.

• And twice a year, two volunteers are nominated for the SCBWI Tribute Fund Award, which gives winners an all-expenses-paid trip to either the SCBWI Winter Conference in New York or SCBWI Summer Conference in Los Angeles. Past local participants include Christopher S. Jennings and Marsha Riti.