Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Austin SCBWI Scholarship for Writers of Diverse Characters

Austin SCBWI is thrilled to announce the Austin SCBWI Scholarship for Writers of Diverse Characters. Writers of all genres whose characters who are diverse in race, ethnicity, religion, sexual preference, or any other way, may apply.

The winner will receive a scholarship for the Saturday of our 2015 Writers & Illustrators Working Conference, including all the keynotes, breakout sessions and lunch. Critiques and other extras are not included, but the Sunday intensives will be at a discounted rate.

Author extraordinaires Jo Whittemore, Emma Virján and Jessica Lee Anderson will judge the scholarship contest. Jo Whittemore is the author of D IS FOR DRAMA, ODD GIRL IN and others. Emma Virján is the author of NACHO THE PUPPY, as well as an illustrator. Jessica Lee Anderson is the author of CALLI, BORDER CROSSING and others.

The winner will be announced at the end of November, before registration for the conference opens.

Applications are being accepted now. The contest is free to SCBWI members and $15 for nonmembers. To apply, please prepare 1 document that includes the following:

•    Brief 3-4 sentence paragraph about your use of diverse characters in this manuscript
•    1-page synopsis of your full manuscript
•    First 3 pages of your manuscript for novels or longer non-fiction, or full manuscript for picture books formatted with standard formatting rules

Please make sure the title and genre are included on the first page, but NOT your name. We're focusing on the work, so judging will be anonymous.

Email the document to Gale Albright at and make sure your name, the title and genre are listed in the body of the email. Make the subject line: ASCBWI Diversity Scholarship Application. Non-members will be asked to submit their payment after their application is received.

Please note: We encourage all writers to enter, no matter where they live. However, the scholarship only covers the Saturday portion of the conference, not airfare or hotel for out-of-town guests.

The application period closes Oct. 31, 2014.

We look forward to getting your submission.