Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Austin SCBWI members honored by the Texas Institute of Letters

Congratulations to the numerous Austin SCBWI members who have been honored by the Texas Institute of Letters (TIL) this year as part of the annual TIL Literary Awards!  The TIL is “a nonprofit Honor Society founded in 1936 to celebrate Texas literature and recognize distinctive literary achievement,” according to the press release.  In the TIL Literary Awards, winners and finalists are selected in thirteen categories.

Jarrett Pumphrey and Jerome Pumphrey won the Brigid Erin Flynn Award for Best Picture Book for The Old Truck.

Don Tate was named a finalist for the same award for William Still and His Freedom Stories: The Father of the Underground Railroad.

Christina Soontornvat won the Deirdre Siobhan FlynnBass Award for Best Middle Grade Book for A Wish in the Dark.

Chris Barton, who won the TIL award for best picture book in 2019, was inducted this year as a new member of the Texas Institute of Letters.

All the honorees will be celebrated at a virtual award ceremony and presentation on April 17th.  Congratulations to all!

Jarrett Pumphrey

Jerome Pumphrey

Don Tate author headshot

Don Tate

Author photo of Christina Soontornvat, leaning against a white wall

Christina Soontornvat

  Chris Barton