Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

Cynthia Leitich Smith Named Finalist for NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature

Cynthia Leitich Smith

Cynthia Leitich Smith

Austin SCBWI member Cynthia Leitich Smith has been announced as a finalist for the NSK Neustadt Prize for Children’s Literature. The prize recognizes significant achievement of a writer or illustrator, either over a lifetime or in a single publication, as well as an ongoing, positive impact on children’s literature. The winner will be announced Oct. 20, 2020.

Previous winners include National Book Award recipients Katherine Paterson (2007) and Virginia Euwer Wolff (2011), Naomi Shihab Nye (2013), and Marilyn Nelson (2017), winner of the Poetry Society of America’s Frost Medal. Last year’s NSK Prize was awarded to Margarita Engle, the 2017–2019 U.S. Young People’s Poet Laureate and two-time finalist for the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award.