Society of
Children's Book Writers
and Illustrators

2018 Cynthia Leitich Smith Writing Mentor Awards Chosen

Congratulations to Aimee Thomas, who has won Austin SCBWI’s 2018 Cynthia Leitich Smith Writing Mentor Award! Plus, our mentor Jennifer Ziegler has decided to expand her mentorship to include an Honor recipient, Amy Bearce.

Aimee receives a year’s mentorship with Jennifer, including one full manuscript critique. Amy receives one full manuscript critique.

“Coming to a decision was tough!” said Jennifer. “Every entry swept me up, intrigued me with its premise, and had me rooting for its characters. In the end I chose two manuscripts I felt would benefit the most from my experiences and expertise.”

To all the nominees, she added, “I want to congratulate all of you not just for being chosen as a finalist, but for your creations. It’s obvious that your hard work and commitment to craft is paying off. Keep writing, keep active in the writing community, and keep on believing in yourself and your stories. It was a privilege to get this glimpse into your worlds, and I look forward to visiting them again in published form.”

The other nominees for the mentorship are Kim O’Brien, Michelle Lambing, Pamela McCartney Lindsey, Kristen Kiesling, Ben Cross, D.S. Yates, Kari Lavelle, Robyn McGrath, Gene Brenek and Sheryl Smith Rogers. They were nominated by the critiquing faculty at our 2018 Writers & Illustrators Working Conference. Read the highlights here.

Jennifer Ziegler is the author of the Brewster Triplet middle-grade series for Scholastic: Revenge of the Flower Girls, Revenge of the Angels, Revenge of the Happy Campers, and the upcoming Revenge of the Teacher’s Pets, which will be out on June 26. Jennifer is also the author of the young adult novels How Not to Be Popular, Sass & Serendipity, and Alpha Dog. Her books have been featured on the Lone Star List, the International Reading Association’s Young Adults Choice List, recommended on NPR’s “Tell Me More,” and optioned for film and stage. We thank you her for being our 2018 mentor!